Está mas contenta que una niña con zapatos nuevos.

Meaning she is happier than a clam, but I relate more to the expression in Spanish, of course, Shoes!

When I was little, my abuelita had very creative ways of saving money. I’ve seen her make meals with barely any ingredients, making do with what there was on hand. Delicious too! Socks lasted ages too, she used a wooden shaped egg for the purpose of mending the socks! No such thing now or at least before the recession!

But, back to shoes, once my abuelita transformed our winter Mary Jane’s into sandals by cutting out the toe section of the shoe! I didn’t have many shoes, but we weren’t alone. Shoes were expensive then, and besides, we were growing, so two pairs were more than enough.

I don’t know about you, but I love the feel of new shoes, as if a pair of gorgeous shoes would change my life, change how I feel, transform me in some miraculous way. The joy of new shoes! But, of course, once you have them for a while, the joy, the imaginary transformation, as with everything, wears off. Thus, back to the search for that perfect pair that might do it for you!

But, if the shoe fits! I’ve learnt a few lessons along the way, besides knowing that a shoe won’t change my life or me! I’ve learnt that if the shoe is too narrow, it won’t give, if it’s too wide, a pair of inserts won’t fix it perfectly, kind of like Murphy’s law. If they are to high and hurt, they will hurt outside the store too. That pair of gorgeous ill fitting shoes, will stare at you and be a reminder, that even the most gorgeous shoes, might not be meant for you, and to boot, you wasted your money!

After a lot of trial and error I found there is hope, at least, for those shoes that fit but are used for certain purposes, and you might have problems with, like hiking long hours, days even, with the obvious problems. If you decide to be crazy enough to go on long ass hikes, like me!

I found some tips on a blog, when I was planning on doing the Camino de Santiago hike for five days, I researched what we needed, my friend and I, to try to make it as painless as possible.

What I found: for hiking: only wear smart wool socks! No exceptions, no cotton! They are moisture wicking, don’t itch and are soft against your skin, preventing blisters.

Image

There is also miraculous hope for us women, who dare to bare our feet and wear sandals at the first sign of spring! Feet having been protected for months by tights, socks or hose, are now, not so ready to be exposed to the leather directly rubbing against your skin. I always see women wearing loads of band-aids on their feet! Gorgeous sandals paired with band-aids, not such a great look. Even less sexy, is that clenched teeth smile which accompanies the hidden pain! You can read: I want to go home, NOW!!!

So I found Body Glide Anti-chafe stick!!! It works miracles! Rub on feet, where you think the most rubbing will take place, before wearing new sandals, flip-flops or shoes.

Image

So, enjoy those long ass hikes and those gorgeous sandals!:)

Happy feet, happy smile!:)

By Laura Carbonell: Spanish teacher at Casa Hispana, San Francisco, the place she calls home. Follow her on Twitter
Acerca de Laura Carbonell

Language teacher, food, health and empowerment blogger at @vivafifty @OnLifeandHope @effortlessbeautyandstyle #socialmedia #influencer Follow me on Twitter at @lauralcbl
Esta entrada fue publicada en Beauty, Beauty tips, Exercise, Reviews, Shopping, Skin Care y etiquetada , , , , , , , , . Guarda el enlace permanente.

Responder

