You are not alone

Who knows me a little bit, knows that I love quotes and Sufi poetry. It helps me to see through the eyes of others, to feel others feelings and share mine. I get to see that I am not alone in my own humanity.

“You do not have to be good.  You do not have to walk on your knees for a hundred miles through the desert, repenting.

You only have to let the soft animal of your body love what it loves. Tell me about despair, yours, and I will tell you mine.

(Photo courtesy eleisawifelife)

Meanwhile the world goes on. Meanwhile the sun and the clear pebbles of the rain are moving across the landscapes, over the prairies and the deep trees, the mountains and the rivers.

Meanwhile the wild geese, high in the clean blue air, are heading home again.

Whoever you are, no matter how lonely, the world offers itself to your imagination, call to you like the wild geese, harsh and exciting – over and over announcing your place in the family of things.”  – Marie Oliver

Much has been said and it is said about relationships. Myself, I have been searching for that “one” relationship all my life. As a child, I would dream my prince would come and rescue me from my unhappy childhood. Later as an adult, I would find myself searching and still waiting for him, mistaking him by others, making my prince wrong for not rescuing me on time and not taking me away from life’s sorrows. Related to the wrong people.

The truth is no one will ever come to rescue you if you don’t rescue yourself. You can’t make anybody else, but yourself, responsible for your own life. Not even my parents, not even my ex. They are not to blame. I am the one making choices for myself and my life. The best part of it is that we get to say, choose and create whatever we want; whether something that will empower us or disempower us.

“Love yourself first and everything else falls into line. You really have to love yourself to get anything done in this world.” – Lucille Ball

It took  me deep inner searching to get to grasp and understand, beyond the barriers of the mind, what did it really mean to love and honor myself. It took me years of tears, attracting toxic relationships to see and feel and know I am the Light within.

After “waiting” and searching for so long, I have finally found The “One” relationship. The only one that I owe to myself and others, and the rest of the world. The one that truly completes me. The one that honors, loves me and respects me. That is the relationship with my own self.

“Wouldn’t it be powerful if you fell in love with yourself so deeply that you would do just about anything if you knew it would make you happy?

This is precisely how much life loves you and wants you to nurture yourself.

The deeper you love yourself, the more the universe will affirm your worth.

Then you can enjoy a lifelong love affair that brings you the richest fulfillment from inside out.” -Alan Cohen

When you think you are alone, remember you are not. When you think there is something wrong with you, remember you are perfect, whole and complete just the way you are. When you think nobody loves you, love yourself first and know that you are loved beyond the limitations of the mind.

Fernanda Beccaglia is a journalist, food writer, minister of yoga, holistic chef and coach. Follow her on Twitter.

Esta entrada fue publicada en Holistic Living, Lifestyle y etiquetada , , , , , . Guarda el enlace permanente.

Una respuesta a You are not alone

  1. Pingback: 14 Lessons I didn’t learn in school | SpanglishBeauty

Responder

